Lemony Coriander Quinoa

CAM00699

Standing at the bench “taste testing”, actually just down right eating the salad I just made for tea. Better stop or I will have to think of something else for tea, and there is not much in the fridge because we are away for the rest of the week.

Sometimes I just buy things on impulse and this week I ended up with a bag of fresh coriander and a bag of quinoa/amaranth blend? I had been watching some youtube videos on ancient grains and was feeling inspired, so when I walked past them in the supermarket bulk bins I filled up a bag 🙂

Anyway, so we are going away for the rest of the week and I need to use up what I have. What I have turned into this rather tasty, if I do say so, salad.

Give it a go

1 cup quinoa/amaranth blend. or to be fair, any salady grain you have on hand. Maybe rice/ bulghur wheat/ coucous/ farro/ freekah etc etc
1 big handful chopped coriander
1/3 onion- very finely diced
2 TBSP chopped capers – (I LOVE CAPERS)
1 big handful shredded cos lettuce
zest of half a lemon
juice of whole lemon
cracked pepper
plenty of natural Himalayan or sea salt
3-4 TBSP extra virgin olive oil

Toss everything together, check seasoning, and you will have one tangy flavoury nutritious salad.

It is really worth buying and cooking some of these types of healthy whole grains. Sure they take time to cook/prep but if you have some in the fridge or freezer ready to go you can whip up some quick and healthy meals that don’t involve resorting to bread or pasta or some other quick convenience meal. While these may not be as bad as takeaways perhaps, they are just not the best thing to be filling up on on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

