Sprouted Lentil Bread

CAM00722

For some reason the idea for this bread just popped into my head the other night when I was trying to go too sleep. I really like Puy Lentils, and I had just found some nice organic ones at the Real Food Grocer, so that might have been it.  Anyway who knows, but I had to sprout the lentils first so had a couple of days to think about it while that happened.

I have said before that I don’t make strictly “gluten-free” food very often unless I need to for someone specific but as much as possible I like to look for ways to limit the amount of gluten that we consume on a day to day basis. We only have gluten based products at one meal per day and if I it home made I try to add extra bits into baking and what not to bulk it out without just relying on flour. That is essentially the idea behind using the sprouted lentils in this loaf. Not only does it bulk up the nutrient content but it is that much less flour that you need to use.

So first things first I sprouted 1 cup of  lentils in a jar on the windowsill for about 3 days until they just had a tiny short sprout, then I ground/pureed these up in the food processor. I ended up with this…

CAM00717

To make the dough

Put 1 cup of warm water into a big mixing bowl with

1 tsp yeast

1 tsp sugar

Let this sit for a few minutes to soften the yeast and start to bubble then add

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 cup wholemeal flour

1/2 tsp salt

Using a wooden spoon, give the mixture a really good beat to help get the gluten working.

Mix in the pureed lentils and bit by bit add more flour until you get a nice soft and slightly sticky dough. i used about 2 1’2 cups of flour all up. The dough will be quite soft and wont really be knead-able as a normal dough would be. Give it a light knead as you can and let to rise in a warm place for several hours.

CAM00718.jpg

Pat down and shape into a loaf, either in a tin or on a tray. Allow to rise again for at least an hour and then cook in a 180 degree oven for 30-45 minutes

This bread in not your average crusty loaf with a soft white center, this is a super hearty, heavy duty wholewheat bread and it is good. I was pretty happy with it, and am looking forward to seeing how it ages,  that is if it lasts, we ate half of it tonight with chicken soup for tea. Often these wholegrain loaves age much better and last much longer than white bread. In saying that this is truly just a trial run as I have only made it this once. I do intend to give it another go, but I would love to hear from anyone else who may have tried something similar.

CAM00723

 

 

Leave a Reply

