Thai Inspired Tofu Fritters

20160914_184755

I have not been particularly experimental in the kitchen at all of late, but it must be the hint of spring in the air or something, I don’t know but I suddenly am feeling quite inspired.
Last week I found some New Zealand Made organic Tofu on special at the supermarket, and as I haven’t cooked with tofu a whole lot, I felt I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to have a play.

So tonight the tofu turned into these…… purely experimental, completely un-tested but blimmin tasty fritters which we served up for dinner with warm wraps, a big pile of salad bits and bobs and a tasty little bean dip that I will post the recipe for another day ๐Ÿ˜‰

So if you are into tofu or just want to give it a try, have a go at these. I have to be honest, my other half was a tad dubious when I said we were having tofu for tea…. but he came round.

1 block tofu (the one I used was a soft but not silken type)
1/2 red onion – finely diced
4 cloves garlic – crushed
1 tsp grated fresh ginger
2 TBSP naturally brewed soy or tamari sauce
handful of chopped Coriander
1/4 cup flour – use gluten free flour if desired
1 egg
zest of half a lime

Mix everything together until combined. Squeeze/roughly form tablespoonfuls into balls, and plop into a frying pan with a little melted coconut oil. Flatten slightly. They were a little fiddly and “fally-aparty” to begin with but they held together well once cooked, so just bare with. Do them on a moderate heat so they golden up well but don’t burn before they get a chance to cook through.

There you have it, easy and yum and a bit different. Bearing in mind I just made these tonight for the first time, fresh out of my head, so there is no guarantee they will work a second time around. ๐Ÿ˜€ No, I am sure they will, anyway let me know if you try them and have some success

Leave a Reply

